Roll back Update 1 from ESXi 5


As probably most of us are already aware that auto start VM’s option gets disabled when ESXi 5.0 U1 is installed and if you wish to rollback to previous version it is possible.

Roll back using DCUI

This is the supported roll back option.

  • Connect to the host using hardware remote console (ILO,DRAC, RSA, etc..
  • Reboot the ESXi hosts
  • Press SHIFT+R to enter into recovery mode

Image

You will be prompted with a new screen with the Hypervisors installed. One would be the default which is Update1

Image

  • To confirm Roll back Press Y
  • Server will be rebooted and reverted to the previous version of ESXi 5

About Alex Hunt

Hi All I am Manish Kumar Jha aka Alex Hunt. I am currently working in VMware Software India Pvt Ltd as Operations System Engineer (vCloud Air Operations). I have around 5 Years of IT experience and have exposure on VMware vSphere, vCloud Director, RHEL and modern data center technologies like Cisco UCS and Cisco Nexus 1000v and NSX. If you find any post informational to you please press like and share it across social media and leave your comments if you want to discuss further on any post. Disclaimer: All the information on this website is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. I don’t make any warranties about the completeness, reliability and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this blog is strictly at your own risk. The Views and opinions published on this blog are my own and not the opinions of my employer or any of the vendors of the product discussed.
This entry was posted in Vmware. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s